2022 BRICS ASTRONOMY WORKING GROUP WORKSHOP

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2022 BRICS ASTRONOMY WORKING GROUP WORKSHOP

October 18 @ 1:00 pm - October 20 @ 4:00 pm

The BRICS Astronomy Consortium has laid a good foundation and made progress over the years, evident in that finally in 2021 the consortium was successfully granted seed funding to work on the flagship project, The BRICS Intelligent Telescope and Data Network (BITDN) Project. The flagship programme is based on a merger of the transients and big data proposals which were presented, discussed and rated at the October 2019 BAWG meeting. The combined programme is currently ongoing and involves astrophysical transients, survey science and time domain astronomy. It has plans to involve forefront observational facilities and the big data/compute infrastructure needed to support them. Existing and new facilities in all 5 BRICS countries will be harnessed and developed to support the programme.

The programme strongly supports the human capacity development agenda within BRICS and will foster scientific collaboration in the frontiers of astronomy between scientists in all the BRICS countries and beyond. This development, amongst many other things, will form an important point of discussion at the BRICS Astronomy Workshop and Working Group Meeting 2022 and is only the start of many other great projects and leaps that BRICS Astronomy still plans to achieve.

Hosted by the National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences (NAOC), the upcoming 8th meeting of BRICS Astronomy Consortium Meeting promises to be an exciting event to look forward to, following the success and resolutions in the previous 7 meetings which were held at the different BRICS countries previously. One of the key resolutions discussed at the 7th meeting in India was regarding the proposal of establishing the BRICS Astronomy Association, the results of these consultations will be reported back to the consortium and will be discussed during this next meeting.

The theme for the 8th annual meeting is titled “The BITDN Flagship programme: Transients, Surveys and Time Domain Astronomy”.

 

Details:

Date: 18 – 20 October 2022

Time Zones: 19:00 (GMT+08:00) China = 08:00 (GMT-3:00) Brazil = 13:00 (GMT+2:00) South Africa = 14:00 (GMT+3:00) Russia = 16:30 (GMT+5:30) India

 

Register on:

https://bawg2022.casconf.cn/page/1559426381950095361

 

For additional information, contact:

Duduzile Kubheka

BRICS Astronomy Project Coordinator

Email: duduzile@saao.ac.za

 

Shulin Li

NAOC contact point

Email: lisl@nao.cas.cn

 

Audrey Dikgale

SA Department of Science and Innovation contact point

audrey.dikgale@dst.gov.za

 

Details

Start:
October 18 @ 1:00 pm
End:
October 20 @ 4:00 pm
View Event Website